电阻抗是衡量一个电路在施加正弦交流电压时对电流的阻力。这种电缆是一种同轴电缆。我们大多数人都熟悉的一个常见的阻抗控制的例子, 由一个圆形的内导体组成,通过绝缘体与外圆柱形导体(屏蔽层)分开。取代同轴电缆,天线可以通过一根由两根圆线组成的电缆连接到设备上, 两根圆线之间的间隔是平坦的塑料条。与同轴电缆一样,这种电线的尺寸和材料都经过仔细控制,以使其具有正确的电阻抗。

Impedance control 01

这两种电缆是控制阻抗的不同配置的例子,但还有许多其他的例子。在PCB中,屏蔽层是平面,绝缘体是材料,而芯线是导线。阻抗是以欧姆为单位的, 但不应与同样以欧姆为单位的电阻相混淆! 电阻是针对直流电(DC)的,而阻抗是一种交流电(AC),随着信号频率的增加而变得重要, 对于信号成分等于或大于200MHz的印刷电路迹线来说变得至关重要。电线或导线的功能是将信号强度从一个设备传输到另一个设备。当阻抗匹配时, 可以传输最大的信号功率。

Impedance control 02

电视天线有一个 "自然 "阻抗。对于无线电频率(FR),将最大的信号功率从天线转移到电缆,需要电缆的阻抗与天线的阻抗相匹配。此外, 电视的阻抗必须与电缆的阻抗相匹配。

我们必须关注电线的互连,但同样的考虑因素也适用于通过PCB上的线路进行信号传输。就在最近的1997年, 只有当时的高速独特的设备需要具有可控阻抗的PCB。这些设备可能占制造的PCB的20%。

2000年,约有80%的多层印刷电路板是用可控阻抗的线路制造的。这些包括用于所有技术类型的电路板,包括
- 电信
- 视频信号处理
- 高速数字处理
- 实时图形处理
- 过程控制

今天,大多数家庭都有大量的这些技术的低成本应用,例如
- 调制解调器、电话、卫星电视
- 全球定位系统
- 雷达
- 视频游戏
- 低成本PC
- 汽车发动机控制模块

Impedance control 03

我们可以在pcb上满足什么样的阻抗设计?

嵌入式微带

Embedded Microstrip

嵌入式微带传输线,类似于微带,是由宽度为W、厚度为t的导体组成,在比传输线本身宽的地平面上布线,并由厚度为H1的介质基底隔开。

偏移带状线

Offset Stripline

在偏移带状线配置中,信号线被夹在两个平面之间,这两个平面之间的间距可能相等,也可能不相等。这种结构通常被称为双带状线。

边缘耦合涂层微带

Edge-coupled Coated Microstrip

边缘耦合微带是一种差分配置,在表面上有两条阻抗可控的迹线,涂有抗蚀剂,在层压板的另一侧有一个平面。

边缘耦合偏移带状线

Edge-coupled Offest Stripline

边缘耦合偏移带状线是一种差分配置,在两个平面之间夹有两条受控阻抗的路径。线路是交错的,但它们可以在平面之间的一半(2H1 + T = H)。

边缘耦合带状线

Edge-coupled Stripline

这种差分配置的两个线路被层压板隔开,夹在两个平面之间。虽然图中显示了线路的偏移,但制造的目的是让线路没有偏移, 也就是说,一个必须在另一个的正上方。一般来说,这种配置是很难制造的。

涂层共面条

Coated Coplanar Strips

在这种涂层共面条配置中,有一条受控阻抗的单线,每侧有两条指定宽度(W2/W3)的接地线。所有的线路都涂有抗蚀剂。

带地线的涂层共面体波导

Coated Coplanar Waveguide with Ground

共面波导有一条受控阻抗的单线,每边都有平面(或非常宽的接地线),一边是连续的平面,另一边只有层压板。

偏置共面波导

Offset Coplanar Waveguide

共面波导与上述配置类似,不同的是,层压板的两侧都有平面,而且与受控阻抗线路在同一层的平面。


如何控制阻抗?

在PCB制造过程中,必须在工作面板上增加一个测试附连板。该测试附连板是确保建立和图形要求的阻抗相匹配的最佳方式。由于需要测量PCB的阻抗, PCB制造商必须在工作面板上添加一个测试附连板,准确代表PCB板上阻抗印刷的配置。这些测试附连板必须被设计成测试测量系统所描述的模型。 使用相同的材料、相同的生产过程、相同的参数,测试券完全是PCB板阻抗的复制品。

Impedance control 04

典型的测试附连板是一块大约200 x 30毫米的PCB,其线路结构与主PCB完全相同。它的线路设计成与主电路上的受控线路相同的宽度和同一层。 这是保证获得良好结果的最好方法。测试附连板避免了任何增加的铜垫,以及任何可能影响PCB阻抗的变化。在规定了层压板厚度的情况下, 制造商将调整导线宽度以达到阻抗值。该测试附连板将用适当的测试设备进行测试和检查。对于每一个测试附连板,可以分配一份报告, 显示测量的阻抗值。2019年,艾佳普集团投资了一台新的Polar机器,用市场上的最新技术控制阻抗。


Continue with ICAPE Group

img18

Find US

Our business units in the world

View more
img18

Quote Now

Start your quotation on ICAPEshop!

View more
img18

PCBLABO

Discover our machines!

View more

WHAT IS IMPEDANCE CONTROL?

Electrical impedance is the measure of the opposition a circuit presents to a current when a sinusoidal AC voltage is applied. This cable is a coaxial cable. A common example of controlled impedance that most of us are familiar with, consisting of a round inner conductor, separated from the outer cylindrical conductor (the shield) by an insulator. Instead of a coaxial cable, an antenna can be connected to the device by a cable formed of two round wires spaced apart from a flat plastic strip. As with the coaxial cable, the dimensions and materials of this wire are carefully controlled to give it the correct electrical impedance.


These two cables are examples of different configurations of a controlled impedance but there are many others. In PCB, the shield is the plane, the insulator is the material and the core wire is a trace. Impedance is measured in Ohms, but should not be confused with a resistance, also measured in ohms! The resistance is for direct current (DC), while the impedance is an alternating current (AC) that becomes important as the signal frequency increases, becoming critical for printed circuit traces with signal components of equal to or greater than 200 MHz. The function of a wire or trace is to transfer the signal strength from one device to another. The maximum signal power is transferred when the impedances are matched.

A TV antenna has a “natural” impedance. For Radio Frequencies (FR), the transfer of the maximum signal power from the antenna to the cables requires that the impedance of the cable matches the impedance of the antenna. In addition, the impedance of the TV must match the impedance of the cable.

Although we have to focus on wire interconnections, the same considerations apply to signal transfer through traces on a PCB. As recently as 1997, only the then high-speed exotic devices required PCBs with controlled impedance. These amounted to perhaps 20% of the manufactured PCBs.


In 2000, about 80% of all multilayer PCBs were manufactured with traces of controlled impedance. These included boards for all types of technologies including :

- Telecommunications
- Video signal processing
- High speed digital processing
- Real graphic processing
- Process control

Most homes today have a great number of low-cost applications of these technologies, for example:

- Modem, phones, satellite TV
- GPS
- Radar
- Video games
- Low cost PC
- Auto engine control modules



WHAT KIND OF IMPEDANCE DESIGN CAN WE MEET ON PCB?

 

An embedded microstrip transmission line, similar to microstrip, is made up of a conductor, usually copper, of width W and thickness t routed over a ground plane that is wider than the transmission line itself and separated by a dielectric substrate of thickness H1.

 

In the offset Stripline configuration, the signal trace is sandwiched between two planes and may or may not be equally spaced between the two planes. This construction is often referred to as Dual Stripline.

 

The edge-coated microstrip is a differential configuration in which there are two traces of controlled impedance on the surface, coated with a resist and a plane on the other side of the laminate.

 

Edge coupled offset Stripline is a differential configuration with two controlled-impedance paths sandwiched between two planes. The traces are staggered, but they could be halfway between the planes (2H1 + T = H)

 

This differential configuration has two traces separated by a laminate and sandwiched between two planes. Although the diagram shows the offset of the traces, the manufacturing objective is to have the traces without offset, i.e, one must be directly above the other. In general, this configuration is difficult to manufacture.

 

In this Coated Colplanar Strips configuration, there is a single trace of controlled impedance with two ground traces of a specified width (W2/W3) on each side. All the traces are coated with resist.

 

The coplanar waveguide has a single trace of controlled impedance with planes on each side (or very wide ground traces), a continuous plane on one side and a laminate only on the other.

 

The Coplanar Waveguide is similar to the above configuration, with the exception that there are planes on both sides of the laminate and a plane on the same layer as the controlled impedance trace.

HOW TO CONTROL IMPEDANCE?

During the PCB manufacturing, a test coupon must be added in the working panel. This coupon is the best way to be sure that the build up and the copper image matches the requested impedance. Due to the fact that the PCB impedance needs to be measured, the PCB manufacturer has to add a test coupon in the working panel representing exactly the configuration of the impedance print in the PCB board. Those test coupons must be designed as a model described by the test measurement system. Using the same material, same production process, same parameters, the test coupon is exactly the replica of the impedance of the PCB.

The typical test coupon is a PCB approximately 200 x 30 mm with exactly the same trace construction as the main PCB. It has traces which are designed tot be the same width and on the same layer as the controlled traces on the main circuit. This is the best way to assure a good result. The test coupon avoids any addition pads, any changes which can influence the PCB impedance. In case where the laminate thickness is specified , the manufacturer will adjust the trace width to achieve the value of impedance. This coupon will be tested and checked with a appropriate testing equipment. For each test coupon, a report can be assigned showing the value of impedance measured. In 2019, ICAPE Group invested in a new Polar machine to control impedance with the latest technology available on the market.

Continue with ICAPE Group

img18

Find US

Our business units in the world

View more
img18

Quote Now

Start your quotation on ICAPEshop!

View more
img18

PCBLABO

Discover our machines!

View more